Port Ambassador Program – SC Ports Authority

Port Ambassador Program

Home > About the Port > Our Impact > Community > Port Ambassador Program

Nomination Process
The Port Ambassador Program consists of delegates nominated by each of the 10 SCPA Review and Oversight Commission (ROCSPA) members, the 9 members of the SCPA Board of Directors, and the SCPA Senior Management team. The target class size is 25 individuals from around the state with varying professional backgrounds and community connections.

The program runs September through May; over the following 9 months, delegates are exposed to the inner workings of the Port and intermodal industry through a series of full and half day educational sessions and tours. To foster an atmosphere of networking and industry understanding, delegates will be included in special events hosted by the Port and port partners when appropriate.

To increase public awareness and understanding of the SC Ports Authoritys strategic plan, ensuring the Port will become the preferred top-ten port in the nation.

To develop a network of graduates to assist in fostering goodwill, understanding, acceptance and advocacy from local, state and federal leaders and surrounding community members.

The next 5 years will be decisive for the Port with aggressive volume and financial growth, completion of the Phase One of the Hugh K. Leatherman Terminal, and harbor deepening to 52 feet atop the list of goals to achieve by 2021. The Port Ambassador Program will enhance the work of the SCPAs talented, skilled workforce by educating select community leaders on the inner workings of the Port and on issues and opportunities facing the Port. Graduates of the Port Ambassador Program will be a resource for grassroots community efforts to support the goals and mission of the Port.

Target Ambassador Criteria
Port Ambassadors are South Carolinians currently exhibiting leadership and influence within their respective sectors of business, philanthropy or community service. The ideal Ambassador is a busy, involved person who is already making a difference in the economic, cultural and social quality of life in South Carolina with enough schedule discretion to devote 4-5 days per year to the Port Ambassadors program.

Program Implementation
The External Affairs Department is responsible for implementing the program including coordination of all sessions and activities, communication with participants, integration with staff members, and future alumnae engagement.

Port Ambassador Class of 2019-20

Port Ambassador Class of 2018-19

Port Ambassador Class of 2017-18


Jordi R. Yarborough | Senior Vice President of External Affairs
Telephone: (843) 579-4468 | JYarborough@scspa.com

English Purcell | Manager, Web & Special Projects
Telephone: (843) 577-8184 | epurcell@scspa.com