Board of Directors - SC Ports Authority

Board of Directors

Home > About the Port > Mission and Leadership > Board of Directors

A nine-member Board of Directors governs South Carolina Ports Authority, each appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the SC Senate, along with two non-voting, ex-officio members – SC Secretary of Commerce and Secretary of Transportation.

The Board of Directors meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 1:00 p.m. at SCPA Headquarters at 200 Ports Authority Drive in Mount Pleasant, unless otherwise noted on the meeting agenda. In addition to posting meeting notices, SC Ports announces all public meetings and provides an agenda to any interested person, organization, or news media outlet by e-mail. To receive e-mail notifications or if you would like to attend a meeting, please contact Kelsi Brewer at

Click here for the most recent board meeting agenda.

Board meeting minutes and recordings of the meetings are available upon request.

Bill H. Stern
, Chair, Columbia, SC – South Carolina Ports Authority (SCPA) Board Chairman Bill Stern is President and CEO of Stern & Stern, a commercial real estate and investment company which owns and manages real estate throughout the southeastern United States. Mr. Stern has been with the firm for over thirty-five years, and during that time he has also dedicated a great deal of time to public and community service.  Mr. Stern was awarded the Order of the Palmetto, the State’s highest civilian honor, in 1999. [complete bio]
David Posek
David J. Posek
,  Vice Chairman, Pawleys Island, SC – Governor Sanford appointed Mr. Posek to the SC Ports Authority Board in October 2005 and Governor Haley reappointed him in 2014. He was elected Chairman of the Board for the years of 2008 and 2009. He continues to serve on the SCPA Board, where he currently is the Chairman of the Bi-State Commission between SC & GA to build a new Port on the lower Savannah River. [complete bio]
Kurt D. Grindstaff,
Treasurer, Hilton Head Island, SC – Mr. Grindstaff, who joined the South Carolina Ports Authority Board of Directors in June 2015, is Chief Financial Officer of DBH Global Incorporated. His responsibilities include developing financial controls and implementing strategic planning and budgetary disciplines to improve profitability, cash flow and eliminate debt. He planned and managed the first audit of the company by an independent CPA firm. [complete bio]
Willie 'Coach' Jeffries
Willie E. Jeffries
, Secretary, Elloree, SC – Willie Jeffries was appointed by Governor Nikki Haley to serve on the South Carolina Ports Authority Board in 2010. He is a native of Union, South Carolina, earned his Bachelor’s degree in civil engineering and a Master’s degree in guidance and counseling from South Carolina State University. Jeffries has received numerous honors, including the Order of the Silver Crescent, the Palmetto State’s highest award for outstanding community service. He also received the Order of the Palmetto, the state’s highest civilian award and the Patriot’s Award, the highest award given by the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. [complete bio]
Whit Smith
Whitemarsh S. Smith, III
, Charleston, SC – First appointed in 1999 by Governor Hodges, Captain Smith has served as Board Member of the South Carolina Ports Authority for 15 years, under three South Carolina governors. He has held every elected position within the board, and was elected as Chairman of that Board from 2001 to 2004, and in this capacity was selected to testify to U.S. Congress on a national debate on governance of maritime issues. In addition, Captain Smith serves as the longest-standing President of Charleston Branch Pilots’ Association, with 33 years at its helm.  [complete bio]
Pam Lackey
Pamela P. Lackey
, Columbia, SC – Pamela P. Lackey was appointed to the South Carolina Ports Authority Board by Governor Haley in 2010. Pamela P. Lackey served as president of AT&T South from 2007 through July 2018. In that role, she was responsible for public policy, economic development and community affairs, working closely with state and community leaders to help bring new technology and jobs to the state and improve the quality of life for all South Carolinians. [complete bio]
Wes Jones
William W. (Wes) Jones
, Bluffton, SC – Wes Jones was born in Greenville, South Carolina, in April 1946. He attended the public schools in Greenville before enrolling at Darlington School in Rome, Georgia, from which he graduated in 1964. Following his graduation from Darlington, he entered The Citadel in Charleston, South Carolina. While at The Citadel, he was elected President of the Class of 1968 and, upon graduation, was named as a Distinguished Military Student and commissioned a 2nd Lieutenant in the U.S. Army. [complete bio]
Kenny Jackson
Kenneth R. Jackson
, Blythewood, SC – Mr. Jackson joined South Carolina Electric & Gas Company in 1978 and after more than 40 years of service, he recently retired from SCANA. Throughout his tenure, he served in various professional and leadership positions within SCE&G and SCANA, including the regulatory and accounting departments.  In his current position, he is responsible for the rates and regulatory functions, economic development and developing and maintaining strong relationships with all levels of government – federal, state and local – as well as certain regulatory agencies. [complete bio]
Mark  Buyck
Mark W. Buyck, Jr.
, Florence, SC – Mr. Buyck is a member of the Florence County, South Carolina and American Bar Associations, and is a past president of the SC Defense Trial Attorneys Association. He is a permanent member of the US Fourth Circuit Judicial Conference, former United States Attorney for South Carolina, and past chairman of the University of South Carolina (USC) Law School Association. [complete bio]

Christy A. Hall (ex-officio) – SCDOT
Harry M. Lightsey III (ex-officio) – SCDOC